Ways to give love

Okay. So I’ve been a little low on inspiration, and decided to check out blog tips. And then picked a random number, and on the list of things to blog about, this was what I ended up with. 25 ways to say I love you.

It goes well with Valentine coming up, so why not. Even though I’ve never been big on Valentine (but then again, I don’t think many people in Norway are, especially if you’re not in a relationship).

  1. Say “I love you.” Oh, you say that’s too obvious, do you? Well, I don’t have any defense to that. But it will get the right message out, if nothing else.
  2. Bake a cake. Cake is good, and made with love, and all that crap. Very few will find it in them to not like to get a cake. Just crazy people that you don’t want to have anything to do with anyway.
  3. Buy flowers in a pot. Because they live, just like you want your love to live! Why would you want to give someone flowers that are damned to die within days? Yesyes, I’m a genius, I know.
  4. Give one of your favourite books. And maybe even write inside on of the first pages, just so they won’t forget who gave it to you.
  5. Frame a picture of you in a nice frame and pack it in nicely. I got a picture of me and Julia once, and it was very nice. Personal gifts are always best. Which brings me to..
  6. Make something. Draw, paint, sew, whatever it is you feel most comfortable with. And give that. Even if it’s not the most perfect thing, the fact that you made it makes it puuurrrrfect. (Yes, I’m very aware of the dangerously high level of clichés I’m reaching.)
  7. Buy incense or candles or tea or some good coffee. Cause if that’s something they use, they’ll always need it, and it’ll always be appreciated.
  8. Call them or meet them just to chat. Cause chatting is nice (taken that it’s a person that to some degree likes people, at least) and it obviously means you care about them enough to want to talk to them.
  9. Music. Whether you chose the cliché of a mix-tape, or just a CD you think they’ll like.
  10. Give them an experience. No, I don’t mean like that. Just for you to go to a theater or museum or to drive go-karts or something like that. Memories are kind of priceless.

I’ll stop at ten. There’s no way I could’ve managed to think up 25 of these. It felt weird enough just doing ten. I don’t see myself as any expert on these things. I just wrote things I would be glad to get, and that I would see as a lovely gesture. So if it’s not me you’re planning to give something to, don’t follow me blindly.


Leave a Reply

