Androgynous appreciation from top to toe

For some time now, I’ve been in love with the androgynous. Whether it be fashion, or people, or.. or. Well. Here’s what wikipedia describes this lovely type of.. being (or something like that) as:

Androgyny is a term—derived from the Greek words άνδρoς (andros, meaning man) and γυνή (gyné, meaning woman)—referring to the combination of masculine and feminine characteristics. This may be as in fashionsexual identity, or sexual lifestyle, or it may refer to biologically inter-sexed physicality, especially with regards to plant and human sexuality.

I think that described it pretty well. But if you’re still in question of what androgynous means and represents, I’ll try to give you my best. Personally, I don’t think androgyneity needs to have anything to do with your sexual orientation. It can just as easily be your personal style or a statement, whether it be fashion wise or more political than that. It’s just a way you can chose to represent yourself, if you feel that it fits you.

Rad Hourani is a designer, who designs his clothes to fit both men and women. In his runway shows, different from most others, all his outfits can be worn by both men and women. I think it’s pretty awesome. The designs, and the concept. Here’s a little taste of it, you can see the whole collection at style.com.

There’s this model as well, you’ve probably heard of her. She’s like kinda famous. Anyhow, she’s become kind of a symbol for androgyneity. I really love her style.

(In case you didn’t know, it’s Agyness Deyn.)

Also, I’ve liked Bill Kaulitz’s style for some time now, it’s just gotten better over the years, and I think he’s a good example for men being androgynous.

Traits that usually is associated with the androgynous look differences from females to males, for obvious reasons. I don’t think there’s really just one or two things you can put your finger on when it comes to explain why some people appear androgynous, and it’s so different from person to person. But there are some characteristics that usually have some say in it, and since I’m writing this informative (or so I’d at least like to think) post, and since I adore lists more than what is probably healthy, I’ll give you one.

  • How clothes sit on your body (Tight for males, sometimes, but not really necessarily, looser on females)
  • Eyebrows (More styled on males, thicker and maybe a little bushier on females)
  • Hair (Sometimes longer and more femininely styled on males, short on females)
  • Colours (Unisex colours like black, grey, blue and red. This really goes for both genders.)
  • Make-up (For males; more, for females; less, or at least not very feminine)

It felt a little weird writing this list, as I do in no aspect consider myself any kind of expert on androgynous appearance. Neither do I believe in following any kind of rules when dress yourself, so don’t take this as meaning that if you want to get an androgynous look you’ll have to drop your favourite colour forever because I didn’t mention it here. I didn’t even mention my own favourite colour, and I consider myself to be at least a little bit androgynous. (For the record, it is as you probably can see on the design of my blog, green.)

Hope you enjoyed this, and maybe found some use in it, or maybe you found it totally offending (which if you did, please let me know). I enjoyed writing it, if nothing else.

And, just so you know, I don’t really think my adulation for lists is unhealthy.


Leave a Reply

